Susan Lynn Meyer

Archive for the ‘World War II books’ Category

For Readers of Skating with the Statue of Liberty: 1940s Songs

Most likely there are some songs mentioned in Skating with the Statue of Liberty that you do not know, unless you happen to be old enough to remember the year 1942.

Maybe you would like to hear some of them.… Read More

Posted on 07/22/2016 05:00 am | Leave a comment
 

For Readers of Skating with the Statue of Liberty: September Rose’s Father

Sometimes, when you write fiction, something odd occurs.  Out of the blue, it feels as if your work has become real.

This has happened to me twice before.  Once was after I had finished writing my first novel, Black RadishesRead More

Posted on 07/06/2016 05:00 am | Leave a comment
 

For Readers of Skating with the Statue of Liberty: Mr. Quong’s Hand Laundry

In Skating with the Statue of Liberty, Gustave gets his first job in America working as a delivery boy for Mr. Quong’s Hand Laundry.  This comes pretty directly from my father’s life–he too worked for the Chinese laundry across … Read More

Posted on 06/26/2016 06:21 pm | Leave a comment
 

For Readers of Skating With the Statue of Liberty: Automats

In chapter 22 of Skating With the Statue of Liberty, Cousin Henri takes Gustave and Jean-Paul to the Automat before they go to the movies.

1930s-life-mag-1024x662

Horn & Hardart Automats were founded by Joseph Horn and Frank Hardart. Hardart, who … Read More

Posted on 05/10/2016 05:00 am | Leave a comment
 

My First Copies of Skating With the Statue of Liberty Arrive!

Something amazing has happened—the first copies of my new book, Skating With the Statue of Liberty came in the mail!Skating photo 1

 

As it happened, they arrived in the middle of a freak spring snowstorm, so it is really lucky that … Read More

Posted on 04/06/2016 12:00 am | Leave a comment
 

For readers of WHEN HITLER STOLE PINK RABBIT

If you are awpid-photo-24-may-2013-1706n American reader who admired and loved Judith Kerr’s novel based on her family’s escape from Germany in the 1930s, When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit, there is something you need to know immediately. It is … Read More

Posted on 03/27/2016 05:43 pm | 6 Comments